Prof. Chandrabhan Sharma

IEEE EAB Meritorious Achievement Award in Accreditation Activities (2014)

IEEE Award to Professor Chandraban Sharma. 2014

Chandrabhan Sharma (M’81–SM’02) received the B.Sc. degree in electrical engineering (telecommunications), M.Sc. degree in power systems, and Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering (energy systems) from the University of the West Indies (UWI), St. Augustine, Trinidad & Tobago, in 1979, 1982, and 1992, respectively. In 1979, he joined the Trinidad and Tobago Oil Company as an Engineer in Training. In 1992, he moved on to Centrin, Point Lisas, Trinidad & Tobago, as the E&I Supervisor during construction of its merchant bar steel mill. After commissioning of the Centrin plant in 1993, he joined the National Energy Corporation, Couva, Trinidad & Tobago, as the E&I Superintendent during the construction and commissioning of Trinidad’s first methanol plant. In 1986, he joined the Faculty of Engineering, UWI, as a Lecturer with the Department of Electrical Engineering. He is a Full Professor of energy systems and the Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, UWI. He has served on several Boards of Directors in Trinidad including the Iron and Steel Company, Power Generation Company, and Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission. He was Chairman of National Infrastructure Development Company, Ltd., which had responsibility for rapid rail, water taxis, and improvements on national highways. He has served in public Commissions of Inquiries in Trinidad and Jamaica. He was developer and convenor of the CXC/CAPE’s A’level subject “Electrical and Electronic Technology.” He was also a member of the Government task force on Technical Vocational Education and Training (TVET) in schools. He also served as Power Sector Advisor to the Organization of Caribbean Utility Regulators (OOCUR). Dr. Sharma is currently a member of the Boards of Directors of Trinidad Concrete Products, Caribbean Hydro Source, and Republic Bank, and was Director of the Barbados National Bank’s (BNB) three subsidiaries. He is past President of the Association of Professional Engineers of Trinidad and Tobago as well as past President of the West Indies Group of University Teachers. He was the first President (2009–2011) of the Caribbean Accreditation Council for Engineering and Technology (CACET). He was Deputy Chair of the Trinidad and Tobago Chapter of the IEEE in 2005 and was instrumental in getting the Chapter (of Puerto Rico) recognized as a full Section. He was Chair of the IEEE Trinidad and Tobago Section from 2007 to 2009. He has been a continuous member of the Committee on Global Accreditation Activities (2007–2013) and Chair (2014). In 2014, he was appointed member of the IEEE University Resources Committee.

Sourced from: